EPPY™ judges are leaders in all facets of media, including website design, marketing/advertising, editorial, technology, education, and management. We select professionals to serve as judges who have distinguished themselves in their field and who demonstrate exceptional vision and understanding of today's technology.

If you are interested in becoming a 2020 EPPY™ judge, or would like to nominate a colleague, please contact us at: martha@editorandpublisher.com.

EPPY™ judging utilizes a proprietary system developed by Editor & Publisher Magazine. The computer program tabulates scoring, ensuring accurate calculations. Judges adhere to specific guidelines and criteria when evaluating entries, emphasizing that the highest degree of fairness and integrity is used to reach definitive results. Judges look for the best combination of creativity and functionality.

Each entry will be judged on the following:

Well-written, thought-provoking and thoroughly researched content is the core of an outstanding media website.  In addition to text, content includes photos, charts, graphics, audio, video, related links, and a wide variety of other resources that enhance the user’s engagement with and understanding of the subject or purpose of the website.

Even the most stellar content cannot be fully appreciated by the user unless the design supports it. This category encompasses use of layout, graphics, space, topography, color, consistency, and reinforcement of the media brand. Exceptional design is not overly elaborate and does not distract the reader from the content.

Ease of use is vital to an EPPY™ Award-nominated website.  Navigating throughout the site should be intuitive and easy to comprehend for all Web users.  All aspects of the design should assist the user in finding sought-after information.  There should be ease of use while moving to and from the home page, all while maintaining an aesthetically pleasing layout.

Innovative thinking epitomizes success in today’s media world. Is the entry unique in concept, design technique or performance? Is there a “wow” factor, demonstrating something you might not have experienced before? How different is the entry? Does it stand out? Does it demonstrate a significant benefit to the users or does it make a lasting impact? 

Overall Impression
Does the website entice the user to come back consistently to see what’s new and find new content? This category allows the EPPY™ Award judges to express their general  impression  of a site. Would they visit it again? Would they recommend that others visit this site?

*Winners must receive a score in the top one-third of the average score across all categories within their division. As a result, there may be no winner in categories not reaching this threshold.

2019 EPPY Judges
Each year the EPPY™ Awards are judged by a panel of notable figures in the media industry, chosen by the staff of Editor & Publisher.

Dustin Barnes, The Tennessean

Katy Lieber, The Press Democrat

Tyler Batiste, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

David Lucas, Thomson Reuters

Peter Bhatia, Detroit Free Press

Mark Mahoney, The Daily Gazette

Jak Boumans, Electronic Media Reporting

Laura McAdoo, The Seattle Times

Meredith Broussard — New York University


Paul Cheung, Knight Foundation

Christine McKenna, Lehman College

Chris Coates, Herald & Review

Margaret McKenzie, The Conway Daily Sun

Linda Corcoran, The Boston Globe

Todd Milbourn, University of Oregon

Kevin Dale, Colorado Public Radio

Stephanie Monty, The Internet Educator

Kristen DelGuzzi, USA Today

Bernie Oravec, Barash Media

Matt DeRienzo, Hearst Connecticut Media Group

Meaghan Parker, Society of Environmental Journalists

Ethar El-Katatney, Wall Street Journal

Ed Pikulski, Times-Shamrock Communications

Mary Firestone, Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association

Seth Rogin, Nucleus Marketing Solutions

Tim Gallagher, The 20/20 Network

Dietmar Schantin, Institute for Media Studies

Lindsay Gloor, The Herald-News

Marie K. Shanahan, "University of Connecticut, School of Journalism"

Christopher Graham, Larson Newspapers

Bridget Sibthorp-Moecker, Herald & Review

Andrew Green, Thomson Reuters

Peter Suciu, Tech Reporter

Lauren Gustus, Sac/Bee

Josh Sweigart, Dayton Daily News

Erik Hall, The Roanoke Times

Annika Toernqvist, The Press Democrat

Sam Hall, The Clarion-Ledger

Lucio Villa, The Washington Post

Lisa Heyamoto, University of Oregon

Lauren Walck, Sun Herald and McClatchy

Keith Jordan, Upstream Digital Media

Hannah Wise, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Dan Kennedy, Northeastern University

Andrew Yates, HuffPost Canada

Courtney Lamdin, Seven Days